Chris Heller

Home / About Us / Our Team / Our Team / Chris Heller

Chris Heller


Chris has been estimating construction costs for over 15 years and he prides himself on consistency and accuracy. When he is not pouring over spreadsheets, Chris enjoys antique cars, travel and good food.

How did you arrive at WCDB? What path brought you here?

I knew Chris the owner for 15+ years prior to working here. Chris and I were co-workers at a previous employer. We have stayed in touch all these years and when the estimating job opened up here WCDB, I joined his staff.

What are you known for professionally? What do you have a knack for?

Estimating. Shooting for being consistently accurate is what it all about.

Who have you worked with in the past? And what have you done for them?

I worked in industrial construction for 4.5 years prior to working in residential construction. Everything is on a much larger scale and on very long timelines. I found that not only are the timelines on the projects are way too long but industrial construction didn’t really capture my interest, so I switched careers and went into residential construction. I worked at another architecture firm for 16 years before coming to WCDB. Residential architecture is far more interesting and the timelines are much shorter, so you aren’t waiting 3 years to see a project go from start to completion.

What are you most passionate about professionally? What most excites you about your work & the contribution you can make?

Making sure that my schematic estimates line up as closely as possible with our final projected costing for a project.

What are you passionate about personally? What do you really enjoy? What can’t you stop talking about?

Renovating my house. Although I renovated my house quite a few years ago, I think it was the best ‘outside work’ professional learning experience in my career.

Where can we find you when you’re not working? What’s your favorite way to spend a weekend or a Sunday afternoon?

I love going to car shows in the summer—or when I go on vacation.

How long have you been doing what you do?

About 25 years.

Where did you grow up and why aren’t you there now?

I grew up on a small farm in central PA. The jobs in my field are here—so I moved to suburban Philadelphia.

Any awards or medals, or even medallions? Personal okay, too.

I graduated cum laude with my BA from PSU.

What would be impossible for you to give up?


What is your favorite TV Show or Series?

I love most everything on HGTV and the Velocity Channel. I can be found (way too often) on my couch watching Fixer Upper or Chasing Classic Cars.

What is your favorite restaurant?

Yardbird Southern Table in Miami. I love the shrimp and grits and the fried chicken. We usually have dinner there twice so I can get both meals while I’m on vacation. They also have a great mixed drinks menu too!

What is your favorite vacation spot?

Mexico. I lived there for 2 years—and try to go back whenever I can.